legit the best cookies e v e r

Okay I know everyone says their Mom makes the best cookies..but these are better.

Actually, scratch that. I don't *actually know* your mom- she's probably amazing. So forgive me, mothers of the world…I'm sure you all make super good cookies.

Okay- but in all seriousness, I make pretty great cookies. All my friends & family a l w a y s ask me to make them (and quite frankly, I think it's one of the reasons why they stay friends with me…*stares off into space*…okay MAYBE I'm exaggerating, but then again, maybe not.).

But really, everyone always comes to me and asks me, "Melissa, how do you make your cookies sooooOoOoOooooo thick, soft, and chewy? What's your secret???"

Well for starters, I  a l w a y s  use semi-sweet Nestle Toll-House chocolate chips. They are the bomb-dot-com (<–don't follow that link, I'm just trying to be cool using the lingo "dot-com" )

I also love using the chocolate CHUNKS; there is just something so amazing about how large the chunks are that just make the cookies *extra* special.

 

img_6843

 

But the most important thing is: cold butter. I know recipes always say "softened" and yeah *technically* the butter has to be soft so that you can be able to whip the butter and the sugar together. However, I cut the cold butter into cubes and it works 100% better for me than waiting for the butter to be room temperature or, even worse, microwaving it.

 

Here are the ingredients you'll be needing:

  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) cold butter, cut into cubes
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon packed brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • large eggs
  • 2 cups (12-oz. pkg.) of Semi- Sweet Nestle toll-house chocolate CHUNKS (trust)
  • 1 cup (optional) Toffee bits, nuts or any other desired topping, I LOVE adding a 1/2 cup of mini chocolate chips!

 

STEP 1: Preheat oven to 375° F.

STEP 2: Mix flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt in small bowl. Beat butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar and vanilla extract in large mixer bowl until creamy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.

STEP 3: Gradually beat in flour mixture. Stir in semi sweet chocolate chunks (and extra toppings) .

*optional step* Cover the bowl with a lid or saran wrap, and chill in the refrigerator for 20 to 25 minutes. This isn't necessary, but if you live in a humid state (florida -_- ), or if your batter came out too soft and melty, your cookies are probably going to get flat when you bake them. So, chilling the dough for a little while helps it firm insuring that your cookies come out puffy, chewy and soft. just a little FYI: really cold batter makes for the fluffiest cookies! Crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside.

STEP 4: Using two spoons, one to scoop dough and one to push off cookie dough, drop cookie batter onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.

STEP 5: Bake for 9 to 11 minutes or until golden brown. Cool on baking sheets for 2 minutes; remove to wire racks to cool completely.

STEP 6: Eat one, then two, then ten cookies as you ponder why you have no self-control…then plan out your meal preps and work-out routines for the week since you just ate 2 million calories worth of cookies in one sitting.

so im sorry and ur welcome.

 

 

 

img_6844

5 thoughts on “legit the best cookies e v e r

  1. Monica C. says:

    So I’ll be trying these…on my next cheat day! Yumm. Thanks for the chillón the better tip..now I know why my cookies come out like flying saucers! 😊

    Like

  2. Lisa says:

    I have been blessed enough to try these cookies! They are absolutely the most delicious cookies. However, I haven’t tried them a long time so I’m gonna have to hold my vote until I can further review!!! But if I’m honest I have to say that everything Melissa makes is absolutely delicious 😋. I would like more videos however. Can we make this a Vlog instead of a blog. And also can we add some singing to it? That’s something I really want to hear about!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment